All-time Nick Saban-coached team, from Tua Tagovailoa to DeVonta Smith

DeVonta Smith in 2020 earned one of the most decorated seasons in the history of the wide receiver position.

He secured the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, Paul Hornung Award, Biletnikoff Award, Sporting News Player of the Year, AP Player of the Year, SEC Offensive Player of the Year and unanimous All-America honors. That’s part of a season in which he caught 117 passes for an SEC-record 1,856 receiving yards and 23 touchdowns. His final game was equally impressive, with 12 receptions for 215 yards and three touchdowns — in a half.

The wirey receiver didn’t merely enjoy a flash-in-the-pan season, either: He led Alabama’s uber-talented receiving corps in 2019 in yardage (1,256) and touchdowns (14) and was brilliant in the two years prior as well, helping him break Amari Cooper’s school records for receptions (235), yards (3,965) and touchdowns (46). That includes two game-winning touchdown receptions as a freshmanagainst Mississippi State and, of course, Georgia.

Other considerations: Josh Reed, LSU (1998-2001)

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button